Toyota Highlander Towing Capacity: 5,000 lb, or 3,500

For the 2026 Toyota Highlander, Toyota publishes two different numbers, and which one applies to you depends on what is under the hood. In its own newsroom release "2026 Toyota Highlander Gets Standard All Wheel Drive Across the Lineup," dated 2025-09-05 and retrieved 2026-08-26, Toyota states that "all Highlander 2.4-L turbo gas powered models have a 5,000-pound towing capacity," and that hybrid models "have up to 3,500 pounds of towing capacity," repeating that as "a towing capacity of up to 3,500 pounds for all hybrid grades."

That is a 1,500 lb gap inside one nameplate, and it is the single most important fact on this page. Almost every result that ranks for "Toyota Highlander towing capacity" leads with 5,000 lb. If you own or are buying the hybrid, that headline is not your number, and the difference is larger than most travel trailers' cargo capacity.

Neither figure is what actually decides whether you can tow the trailer in front of you. Payload usually decides that, and payload is printed on the placard in your own driver's door jamb. Nothing on this page overrides that placard or your owner's manual.

The Published Figures

FigureApplies toSource, retrieved 2026-08-26What it covers
5,000-pound towing capacity2026 Highlander, 2.4-liter turbocharged gas modelsToyota USA Newsroom, "2026 Toyota Highlander Gets Standard All Wheel Drive Across the Lineup", released 2025-09-05Stated for "all Highlander 2.4-L turbo gas powered models." No per-grade breakdown is given.
Up to 3,500 pounds of towing capacity2026 Highlander Hybrid, all gradesSame releaseStated twice, once as "all hybrid models" and once as "all hybrid grades." Note the words "up to."

Two things about that table are worth saying out loud.

"Up to" is doing work in the hybrid row. Toyota's own phrasing on the hybrid is "up to 3,500 pounds," while the gas sentence is flat: models "have a 5,000-pound towing capacity." We are not going to interpret that difference for you. We are going to point out that Toyota wrote it that way and that your owner's manual and Toyota's towing information for your specific grade are where the settled figure lives.

Neither figure carries backward to an older Highlander. Model-year and generation changes reset ratings, and a number you remember from a previous Highlander, or read on a page about one, is not evidence about the vehicle in your driveway. Check the year you actually own.

What This Page Could Not Source, and Therefore Does Not Publish

No payload figure. No GVWR. No GCWR. No curb weight. No tongue weight limit. No per-grade tow rating. No hitch class.

Toyota's 2026 Highlander release states the two towing figures, the powertrain details and the drivetrain arrangement, and it does not state any of the weights above. This site does not rebuild capacity tables from dealer blogs or specification aggregators, because on a mid-size SUV those third-party pages routinely disagree with each other about which grade is rated at what, and copying one of them would be worst exactly where the reader most needs to be right.

The numbers we are declining to guess at are on the vehicle itself and in the manual, and the next two sections are about how to use them.

The Hybrid Gap Is the Real Story Here

Set the two figures next to each other and the practical consequences are immediate.

A trailer that is comfortably inside the gas Highlander's 5,000 lb rating can be outside the hybrid's 3,500 lb rating with room to spare. This is not a marginal difference to be managed with careful loading. It is a different class of trailer.

Where this goes wrong is at the point of purchase, in both directions. A buyer who tests a gas Highlander, reads 5,000 lb, and then buys the hybrid for the fuel economy has changed their tow rating without anyone mentioning it. A buyer who already owns the hybrid and researches "Highlander towing capacity" gets the 5,000 lb headline from most of page one.

Toyota states both figures in the same release. The gap is not hidden. It is simply not what gets quoted.

So the first thing to establish is which one you have, and the badge on the tailgate is the reliable answer, not the trim name. Grade names overlap between the gas and hybrid lineups.

The Published Maximum Assumes a Driver and Almost Nothing Else

This is the part every headline number leaves out, and it applies to both Highlanders equally.

A maximum tow rating is established with the vehicle essentially empty. Everything you then put in it comes out of payload: passengers, fuel, gear, the hitch hardware, and the trailer's tongue weight, which lands on the rear axle and draws from the same account. A conventional bumper-pull trailer is normally loaded to carry roughly 10 to 15 percent of its loaded weight on the tongue, so a trailer at the top of either Highlander's rating is putting several hundred pounds into the vehicle before anyone gets in.

We cannot complete that arithmetic for you on this page, because Toyota's release publishes no payload figure and this site will not invent one. What we can tell you is where the number is: the tire and loading information placard in the driver's door jamb states the combined weight of occupants and cargo that should never be exceeded for your specific vehicle, as built. That figure is yours alone. It differs between two Highlanders on the same lot with different options.

The method for working it through, once you have the placard in front of you, is set out in how to calculate your real towing capacity, and the reason the two numbers get confused in the first place is covered in payload vs towing capacity.

The Trailer Number You Are Comparing Against Is Probably Wrong Too

One more trap, and it is the one that turns a comfortable margin into an uncomfortable one before you have left the driveway.

The weight printed in a trailer's marketing is often its dry or unloaded weight, without water, propane, battery, or anything you own. The number that matters when you compare against a tow rating is the trailer loaded the way you actually travel, and on many trailers that is several hundred pounds heavier than the brochure figure. Wet weight vs dry weight on a trailer explains where the difference comes from and how to find the trailer's own GVWR, which is the honest ceiling.

Run the comparison with the loaded figure. A 3,500 lb hybrid rating against a trailer advertised at 3,200 lb dry is not the margin it appears to be.

Trailer Brakes

At these weights the question of whether the trailer needs its own brakes is live, and it is not answered by the tow vehicle. It is answered by the trailer's rated weight and by the law in the state you are driving through, both of which set thresholds that vary. Do you need trailer brakes sets out how those thresholds work and where to look yours up. Do not assume that being inside the vehicle's tow rating means brakes are optional.

The Rule That Governs All of It

The lowest-rated component in the chain sets the limit. The vehicle, the hitch receiver, the ball and mount, the trailer itself, and the tires on both. A 5,000 lb tow rating on the vehicle means nothing if the hitch, the ball mount or the tires are rated lower, and the same is true in the other direction.

That is the principle behind every page in our towing capacity by vehicle reference, and it is the reason this site keeps sending you back to your own paperwork rather than printing a number and calling it settled.

What to Do Before You Hitch Anything

  1. Confirm gas or hybrid. This is the 1,500 lb question and it takes ten seconds.
  2. Read your door jamb placard and write down the occupant-and-cargo figure.
  3. Get Toyota's towing information for your model year and grade, from Toyota or your owner's manual, not from a page about a different year.
  4. Weigh or find the loaded weight of the trailer, not the brochure weight.
  5. Check the ratings on the hitch, the mount and the ball, and on the tires at both ends.
  6. If any of those numbers is missing, stop there and get it rather than estimating. On this topic an estimate is the whole failure.

Sources read for this page, retrieved 2026-08-26: Toyota USA Newsroom, "2026 Toyota Highlander Gets Standard All Wheel Drive Across the Lineup," released 2025-09-05, for both towing figures, the powertrain descriptions and the grade lineup. That release is the only source quoted here, and everything it does not state is listed above as not published.

This page is general information. Your vehicle's own placard, owner's manual and the ratings on your hitch hardware govern, and they override anything written here.

Similar Posts